the day started with a pleasant surprise when the dentist told me i was there for only one filling, not the two that i had expected. but you must know that it was a small filling, nothing major. i still have good teeth. good teeth that i will keep until i am an old old woman. no falsies for me.
so then i made a wise decision by going to the pantry for breakfast. it was a difficult choice, but i finally ordered the banana pancakes. the man asked me if i wanted strawberries. fresh strawberries. and i wish i had a picture of it because it was f-ing decadent. that plus the coffee i had been craving since i woke up and a book were a splendid combination.
but, of course, nothing is perfect. being a wednesday morning, the place was not all that crowded. this combined with the loudmouthedness of the man a couple of tables over made it nearly impossible to ignore his conversation. conversation implies that two people are involved, but he definitely dominated. at first i cursed yale. but as i got more involved in his soliloquy i realized i had no one to blame but his mother and father's reproductive organs. what an annoying schmuck. all talking about independent film and how he's decided to just teach himself. okay okay....it doesn't sound necessarily annoying, but trust me, the attitude and delivery .... perfectly detestable. oh he was accepted to the ny film academy but then did it all on his own with a hand me down computer and a monitor he found on the street. it sounded vaguely like he was talking to this other man (oh, i didn't get a great look at them, but the talker was probably in his late 20s, his guest maybe 40s or 50s? possibly a professor of some sort?) and trying to get information from him about filmmaking. in theory, trying to learn from him. but he was far too busy sharing his life and philosophies. fascinating. the pay-off came towards the end of my delicious breakfast when he began to discuss what his documentary (did i mention it was a documentary? even better, right?) was about: f-ing hip-hop. oh my god. and he did acknowledge that it would be a little difficult being a suburban white boy from new jersey trying to bust in on the hip-hop culture, but he thought it was important and that he could do it. some of his questions to the man (that he barely had a chance to answer) included questions about scripting a documentary and "do you call the cast of a documentary 'actors'?"
i don't know if i'm really capturing this moment, but it was highly absurd and a semi-rewarding eavesdropping that made me appreciate that i was not this person.
so then i was finished and it was time to go to work. the man came over to take my check and money as i was putting away my book and preparing to leave. he tilted his head to look at the cover. "ah," he said, "
the master and margerita." which caused me to blurt out, "are you obsessed with russian literature, too??" and he really was. he had been getting into it for the past couple of years he said and we had a brief chat about anna karenina and war and peace and dostoevsky and it was just wonderful and perfect.
and after that, work was pretty okay, too.