the horrors of girl ritual.
i think i need to thank my uncles for their good taste in the women the chose to marry. without them i think i would have crumpled today.
oh the atrocities of the female rights of passage.
i arrived late, as usual, to my cousin's wedding shower. i'm certain i was greeted with many an evil eye (though that could be the catholic guilt, paranoia, lack of sleep, or any combination of the above). i was thankful to find that my family had saved me a seat right between my nine-year-old cousin and my delightfully sardonic aunt, with whom i can express my need to down a few of the dainty little cups of spiked punch.
being a member of the wedding party, i was called on to whisk away the presents after my cousin had opened, reacted, and displayed them. not a big deal, but i came to regard the maid-of-honor as far too stern and bossy for what is supposed to be a joyous celebration. but, as a married woman herself and the mother of twins, she has earned the right to take charge and, more importantly, to be bitter about it all.
i found myself a little disappointed in my cousin's taste as well. were these really the things she'd chosen for her new life in wedded union? i'm boycotting the registy and imposing my own tastes because i just cannot bring myself to endorse the ownership of some of the kitchen and bathroom ware i've seen. plus there was far too much ivory and that's just boring. though i have to say that the silverware - sorry, i believe the correct term is flatware - was simple and had a good heft to it, which is of the utmost importance to me.
i cannot fathom the concept of registering for gifts. it's still something other people do. i told my aunt that i was never going to do all of this should i ever get married (which, after turning 28 is seeming more and more far fetched). she tried to comfort me by saying it could just be a simple backyard affair, but the idea of it in general is what overwhelms me. cards signed by people you don't even know, friends of your beloved's parents and whatnot, so that you make a blanket thank you until the person identifies themself for eye contact. don't get me wrong, i love presents, i just don't care much for obligation.
what do people give the kind of person whose style depends largely on kitsch value and sentimentality?
then there are the inevitable cringe-inducing references to the guests' own marriages - leaving the "old ball and chain" at home, complaining about how he never does anything, nods of agreement everywhere because you know how men are, they're all the same.
on the drive home i wrestled with all of the conflicting emotions and self-perceptions that such an event brings up in me. will i ever get married? am i the kind of person who would settle just to achieve that goal? would i be able to go through with all of this hoopla? being an only child, is there any possible way to get out of it without irreparably hurting my parents? why am i even worrying about any of this in the first place? and it's not like people i relate to don't get married - that's part of why i have so many celebrations of union to go to in the next month.
i've been reading sasha cagen's quirkyalone (thanks SLS), which i can blame for sparking some of these conundrums. my sense of self often feels so skewed and uncertain. i am often so content being off on my own, coming and going as i please, staying in the bookstore as long as i want, wandering aimlessly wherever i choose. but just as often i feel something missing, some integral part of an experience that can only be filled by another person - not just anyone, a particular kind of other person.
i just wasn't made for these times.
at least i'll look hot in my bridesmaid dress.
