Friday, July 08, 2005

like snow in july.

this rain makes me think of snow. it is most definitely not snow. i am well aware of that, and also appreciative. because i hate the cold. but it is pretty cold. but, the whole rain as snow thing....it just makes me want to hide away inside, curled up under blankets with books and movies and tea (which siri offered me when i walked in the door and it was timing perfecto).
this rain is need, also, because i MOWED THE LAWN yesterday. can you believe it? who knew i would ever take interest in yard presentation. it was very fun and rewarding. i had planned on mowing last weekend, but got scared of the electic mower, knowing that i would surely run over the cord. who puts and electical cord on a lawn mower? that thing with the sharp blades? ludicrous. (i almost spelled it ludicris. i believe that's the way the rapper spells it). but yesterday i was motivated by a sense of vindication after the upstairs neighbor gave siri a hard time about our lawn toys. she claimed her husband was going to mow but couldn't. i believe that to be absolute bullshit. still, it got me out there in no time. what a team we were, siri and me. after clearing the lawn of the table, chairs, family swim center, and badminton net, she kept me from certain electrocution by minding the lawn mower cord. then the crazy gal decided to employ the weed-whacker. impressive stuff. so we weeded. our neighbor (from next door, NOT upstairs) let us borrow some little snippers and gave us some tips on our plant life. i was finally able to trim some of the low hanging branches and i even thought about planting an herb garden in the space next to the wild garden. exciting stuff. but i was a little worried about the lawn being too short, so i am relieved that it is far from the kind of day that would scorch the lawn. we love it too much for that to happen.
so, yes, the backyard is still my favorite room in the house and now it looks so much bigger. i only wish i could work such magic with my bedroom.

1 Comments:

Blogger siri lakshmi said...

i totally agree that the best room in the house now looks bigger and more inviting (if that were possible!). i must point out, however, that it was the neighbor lady who bitched me out about the yard, and not in fact the upstairs lady. upstairs lady=nice. next door neighbor=busybodybitch. oy. all the same, we rock!

4:39 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home